About Liona


Liona originally from Ballyfermot, has now been living in Lucan for more than 28 years. As a child growing up she spent many summers in Lucan with extended family living in Arthur Griffith and Hillcrest Estates. Liona and her husband Ciaran have three children. Prior to being elected Liona was very active within her community, successfully leading various campaigns and driving community initiatives. Liona' has worked in various finance roles and has used her experience over the years to support local companies starting up new business’s. Liona was a founding member of Finnstown Abbey Residents Association and was chair for over 5 years prior to her election to South Dublin County Council. Liona was also a founding member of the Finnstown Input Group in 2001 which campaigned for better planning of the Adamstown development. Liona was previously chair of St. Thomas’s and Scoil Áine Naofa Primary School Parents Associations for many years.

Liona is currently also a board member of four post-primary schools and is the chair of Griffeen Community College and Youth Reach. Liona believes in creating a supportive and enriching school environment for everyone.

Liona has a keen interest in the promotion of Sport with herself and family being active members of Lucan Sarsfields GAA, Weston Hockey Club, Woolpack Running Group and regular Griffeen Parkrun running and volunteering.
Liona was elected to South Dublin County Council as an Independent Councillor in May 2014. Remarkably, in her first attempt at local elections, she not only secured a seat but was also elected Deputy Mayor for South Dublin County Council for the term 2014/2015 by her fellow councillors.

Liona was successfully re-elected to South Dublin County Council in 2019, taking the second seat out of five.

Liona as a South Dublin County Councillor is a board/Committee member of the following:

Joint Policing Committee South Dublin County Council

UCAN Committee (Griffeen Youth diversion program)

Griffeen Community College Board (Chairperson)

Adamstown Community College Board
Kishoge Community College/Educate Together Board
Lucan Community College Board

DDLETB Youth Reach Chairperson

Adamstown Big Tree Committee

Former Institute of Technology Tallaght Board (ITT)

Former Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Education Training Board (DDLETB)
Former Riverdale House(Palmerstown) Monitoring Committee